Rules queries from 14th August 2014

QUESTION 1
A PLAYERS BALL WAS RESTING UP AGAINST A SMALL BROKEN TREE BRANCH IN THE ROUGH.   SHE MOVED THE BRANCH (TWIGG) AND CAUSED THE BALL TO MOVE.  SHE REPLACED THE BALL AND INFORMED HER PLAYING OPPONENTS THAT IT WAS WITHOUT PENALTY AND THAT IT WAS IN ORDER AS SHE HAD REPLACED THE BALL.  

ANSWER
She caused her ball to move, replaced it which is the correct thing to do, but under a penalty of one shot (Rule 18-2a) if she hadn't replaced it, it would have been a two shot penalty in stroke play and loss of hole in match play (Rule 20-7b)

QUESTION 2
A PLAYER PLAYED A WRONG BALL OUT OF THE ROUGH.   IN FACT IT WAS AN OLD  RANGE BALL.    SHE INSISTED THAT IT WAS WITHOUT PENALTY AS IT WAS NOT A BALL BELONGING TO ANY OF THE PLAYERS.
ANSWER
Playing any wrong ball, range ball or opponents, partners or one from another fairway is a two stroke penalty in strokeplay and loss of hole in match play (Rule 15-3a)