Decision 8-2b/2

Decision 8-2b/2 Caddie Attending Flagstick Advises Player To Aim At His Foot

Question:- A player’s ball lies on the putting green and his caddie attends the flagstick for him. The caddie suggests, before the stroke, that the player should aim at the caddies left foot. Is the player in breach of Rule 8-2b?

Answer:- If the caddie had placed his foot in position for the purpose of pointing out the line of putt, the player was in breach of Rule 8-2b as soon as the caddie placed his foot in that position. The breach could not be corrected by the caddie subsequently moving his foot.

    If the caddie did not initially place his foot in such a position for the purpose of pointing out the line for putting but subsequently suggested the player aim at his left foot, the player would be in breach of Rule 8-2b if the caddie did not move that foot to another position that does not indicate a line for putting.