Decision 7-1b/7

Decision 7-1b/7 Competitor Practises Putting on The 3rd Green After Finishing Hole During First Round of 36-Hole Strokeplay Competition

Question:- A 36-hole strokeplay competition was scheduled to be played on one day. During the first round a competitor, having holed out on the 3rd hole, plays a practice putt on the 3rd green. Is the competitor disqualified under Rule 7-1b for practising on the course before his second round?

 Answer:- No. A competitor is entitled to do anything which the Rules permit him to do during a stipulated round. Rule 7-2 permits a players between the play of two holes to practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played, any practice putting green or the teeing ground of the next hole to be played in the round, provided such practice stroke is not played from a hazard and does not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7).