Decision 27-2a/2.2

Decision 27-2a/2.2 Possibility That Original Ball is in Water Hazard May Not Preclude Play of Provisional Ball.

Question:- Is it true that, if a player's original ball may have come to rest in a water hazard, the player is precluded from playing a provisional ball?
Answer:- No, even though the original ball may be in the water hazard, the player is entitled to play a provisional ball if the original ball might also be lost outside water hazard or out of bounds. In such a case, if the original ball is found in the water hazard, the provisional ball must be abandoned – Rule 27-2c.