Decision 25-1b/3

Decision 25-1b/3 Improving line of play when taking relief from Abnormal Ground Condition

Question: In certain circumstances, in complying with Rule 25-1b, it is possible for a player incidentally to improve his line of play, e.g. avoid playing over a bunker or a tree. Is this permissible?,

Answer: Yes. If a player's ball is in one of the conditions covered by Rule 25 and if, in taking relief in accordance with the procedure laid down in Rule 25-1b,his line of play is improved, this is his good fortune.