Decision 20-1/14

Decision 20-1/14 Ball Moved by Putter by Player Approaching Ball to Lift It

Question:-A player approaching his ball on the putting green to lift it, dropped his putter on his ball and moved it. Is it correct that there is no penalty in view of Rule 20-1 under which a player incurs no penalty if he accidentally moves his ball in the process of lifting it?
Answer:
No. The player incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a because the movement of the ball was not directly attributable to the specific act of marking the position of or lifting the ball. The ball must be replaced.