Decision 18-2a/28

Decision 18-2a/28 Ball Dislodged from Tree; Circumstances in Which Player is Penalised

Question: A player could not find his ball. Believing the ball might be in a tree, he shook the tree and his ball fell to the ground. He played the ball from where it came to rest. What is the ruling?

Answer: The player incurred one penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a for moving his ball. He should have replaced it. Since he did not do so, in match play he lost the hole and in stroke play he incurred a total penalty of two strokes – see penalty statement under Rule 18.