Decision 18-2a/2

 

Decision 18-2a/2

Ball Falling Off Tee When Stroke Just Touches It Is Picked Up and Re-Teed.

Question:- A player making his stroke on a hole just touched the ball and it fell off the tee. He picked up the ball, re-teed and played out the hole. What is the ruling?

 

Answer:- When the player made a stroke, the ball was in play (see Definition of “Ball in Play”). When he lifted the ball, he incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, when the player made a stroke at the re-teed ball, he played a ball under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-1a). This procedure overrides Rule 18-2a and, therefore, the penalty under Rule 18-2a does not apply.

Note: The player was therefore playing three off the tee.