Decision 14-4/3

Decision 14-4/3 Player Hits Behind Ball and The Strikes Moving Ball

Question: In playing a chip shot, a player’s club strikes the ground several inches behind the ball and does not come into contact with the ball. However, the ground is struck with enough force to cause the ball to move. The player’s club continues and strikes the ball while it is moving. What is the ruling?
Answer: The player must count his stroke and add a penalty under Rule 14-4. Even though the club itself did not initially strike the ball, the ball was put into motion due to the stroke; therefore, Rule 14-4 applies.