Decision 13-4/4

Decision 13-4/4

Touching Grass with Club During Practice Swing in Hazard

Question:- A player takes a practice swing in a water hazard without grounding his club, but his club touches some long grass. Is there a penalty?

Answer:- No – see Note to Rule 13-4. However the player must ensure that his actions do not breach Rule 13-2 or constitute testing the conditions of the Hazard.

 

Interesting Note to Rule 13-4 Ball In Hazard; Prohibited Actions

At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.